Although most sushi rolls consist of basic ingredients like fish, rice and veggies, there’s still a lot to consider before calling a sushi roll “kosher”. Here’s why.
Sushi is a delicious treat that we all know and love. But what differentiates kosher sushi from the rest? Aren’t fish, rice and vegetables all kosher and vegetarian ingredients? The short answer is yes. But there’s much more to kosher sushi than you might think.
Below, we’ll explain what makes sushi kosher, so you know what to expect when you order from Sushi Mamilla.
Kosher Vs. Non-Kosher Fish
In order for a fish to be considered kosher, it needs to have 2 things: fins and scales. That eliminates all shellfish (shrimp, scallops, crab, lobster, squid, oysters, etc.), sea mammals (whale and dolphins) and other types of fish (like eel and shark) from a kosher menu.
When dining at a kosher sushi establishment, options will typically include kosher fish, such as salmon, tuna, bass and yellowtail.
Although all vegetables are intrinsically kosher, they need to be washed thoroughly to ensure that no insects are found on their surfaces.
Vegetables like carrots and cucumbers require a quick and simple rinsing with water. Other vegetables, like bell peppers, exotic mushrooms and scallions require more thorough inspection and cleaning.
Check the Nori, Too
Nori is the seaweed paper typically used to wrap rolls of sushi or onigiri (rice balls).
Just like any other vegetable product, nori needs to be thoroughly inspected for insect infestation. Some brands of nori may have tiny crustaceans pressed throughout each sheet, which, from a kosher perspective, is problematic.
For this reason, only nori with a proper kosher certification may be used to make kosher sushi.
At Sushi Mamilla, we keep to a high standard of kashrut and are certified under Mehadrin Yerushalayim. Our restaurant is conveniently located in Jerusalem, and is only a 12 minute walk from the Prima Kings Hotel. Looking forward to (kosher) dining with you soon!